Connect with us


11 Senate Republicans Vote With Democrats To Revoke Trump’s Emergency Declaration On Border Wall

On Wednesday, the U.S. Senate approved a resolution to block President Donald Trump’s emergency declaration, rebuking the president over his attempt to fund a border wall without congressional approval.

In a 54-41 vote, the Senate approved a resolution to disapprove of Trump’s emergency declaration, including 11 Republicans, according to Politico.

The vote comes after the Trump administration announced it would divert $3.6 billion in military construction funding from several states to build his border wall.

Prior to the vote, Senate Democrats accused Republicans of prioritizing Trump over military families.

“A vote for the president today is a vote in favor of cutting money for our military and slashing support for critical military projects in red states as well as blue,” Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) said. “My Republican colleagues should vote to terminate the emergency declaration today on constitutional grounds.”

Among the states hit by the diversion of military funds are Colorado, Arizona, North Carolina, Texas and South Carolina – all of which have Republican senators up for re-election in 2020.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) decried the vote as a “show vote” during his remarks on the Senate floor Wednesday morning. However, eleven fellow Republicans sided with Democrats to revoke Trump’s emergency declaration.

“Still unwilling to work with the president and Republicans on a long-term bipartisan solution for border security, Senate Democrats are making us repeat the same show vote again,” McConnell said. “I would urge my colleagues to vote for border security.”

The eleven Republican senators joining Democrats to disapprove of the emergency declaration were Susan Collins of Maine, Mitt Romney of Utah, Lamar Alexander of Tennessee, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Rand Paul of Kentucky, Mike Lee of Utah, Jerry Moran of Kansas, Rob Portman of Ohio, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania, Roy Blunt of Missouri and Roger Wicker of Mississippi. Marco Rubio of Florida, who previously voted to disapprove of the emergency declaration did not vote.

Trump declared a national emergency in February to access the funds, after spending negotiations with Congress led to the longest government shutdown in history.

Don't miss the latest Political Digs. Sign up for our daily email:

Click to comment

More in NEWS