Connect with us

Political Dig

15 States Just Filed A Lawsuit Against Donald Trump’s DACA Decision


15 States Just Filed A Lawsuit Against Donald Trump’s DACA Decision

On Wednesday, 14 states and the District of Columbia filed a lawsuit against Donald Trump’s decision to end the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program.

Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson (D) publicly spoke out against Trump’s decision while announcing the lawsuit.

“The president has made numerous statements on the campaign trail and in office disparaging Mexicans,” Ferguson said. “We allege the president’s own statements make clear that DREAMers are being targeted based on their national origin.”

Furgeson, alongside New York Attorney General Eric Schneiderman (D) and Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey (D), authored the lawsuit against Trump. The three are also joined by Democratic attorneys general from Connecticut, New Mexico, Illinois, Hawaii, North Carolina, Oregon, Rhode Island, Delaware, Iowa, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington, D.C.

Ferguson called out Trump for racial profiling, asking that “If a majority of DREAMers were caucasian, does anybody really think the president would have taken the action he took yesterday?”

In average, 4 out of 5 DACA recipients are from Latin American countries. Trump has constantly attacked Mexican people by saying Mexico sends their “worst people” to the U.S.

“We’ve beaten the Trump administration over and over again,” Ferguson said. “We are careful about the lawsuits we bring. We are thoughtful about the lawsuits we bring.”

RELATED: Ohio Gov. Kasich Defies Trump, Offers Dreamers A Safe Ground In Ohio

Click to comment

More in BOOYAH



To Top