Connect with us

Political Dig

Make That Seven. California Joins States Suing Trump’s New Travel Ban


Make That Seven. California Joins States Suing Trump’s New Travel Ban

Donald Trump was forced to revise his travel ban order after the original one got halted by the courts. With his new order revised many states have filed a lawsuit challenging it.

California now joins Washington state, Maryland, New York, Oregon, Massachusetts and Minnesota in the states that are set to challenge the revised order. A hearing on its request to temporarily block Trump’s order will be heard on Wednesday.

The seven states have asked Judge James Robart, who blocked Trump’s first order nationwide, to also block the revised version. Unfortunately the Seattle federal judge told the state attorneys that they have to file their amended complaint first.

The new order is much of the same thing as the old one, the only differences are that Trump removed Iraq from the list of predominantly Muslim countries from which travel is temporarily banned, as well as provisions that banned Syrian refugees indefinitely and included current green-card holders.

California Attorney General Xavier Becerra said in a statement Monday that the order is still unconstitutional despite the changes that were made.

“The Trump administration may have changed the text of the now-discredited Muslim travel ban, but they didn’t change its unconstitutional intent and effect,” he said.

“It is still an attack on people — women and children, professors and business colleagues, seniors and civic leaders — based on their religion and national origin.”

Click to comment

More in NEWS



To Top