Connect with us

Political Dig

More CEOs Quit Trump Advisory Council Over His Remarks On Charlottesville


More CEOs Quit Trump Advisory Council Over His Remarks On Charlottesville

The House of cards seems to be falling on Donald Trump as more CEOs on the White House manufacturing council resigned in protest Monday over President Donald Trump’s botched response blaming “many sides” for the deadly white supremacist terror attack during a rally in Charlottesville, Virginia on Saturday.

Merck & Co. CEO Ken Frazier, the only African-American on the council, was first to step down “to take a stand against intolerance and extremism,” he said in a statement.

The move drew a deranged attack from Trump, who claimed on Twitter that the pharmaceuticals chief would now “have more time to lower ripoff drug prices.”

Hours later, the heads of Under Armour and Intel followed Frazier in stepping down from the manufacturing panel, The Huffington Post reports.

Under Armour CEO Kevin Plank quit the group “to focus my efforts on inspiring every person that they can do anything through the power of sport which promotes unity, diversity, and inclusion,” he said in a statement.

Intel CEO Brian Krzanich resigned “to call attention to the serious harm our divided political climate is causing to critical issues,” he said in a statement. “I resigned because I want to make progress, while many in Washington seem more concerned with attacking anyone who disagrees with them,” Krzanich added. “We should honor ― not attack ― those who have stood up for equality and other cherished American values.”

Other CEOs on the council issued statements condemning bigotry and violence on display in Charlottesville over the weekend, saying they are reconsidering their role in Trump’s panel.

Elon Musk, the billionaire founder of SpaceX and Tesla, as well as Bob Iger, the chairman and CEO of The Walt Disney Company, also resigned from the council earlier this year due to Trump’s decision to leave the Paris Agreement on climate change.

HuffPost published a list of the president’s remaining American Manufacturing Council members:

Andrew Liveris, Dow Chemical Co.

Bill Brown, Harris Corporation

Michael Dell, Dell Technologies

John Ferriola, Nucor

Jeff Fettig, Whirlpool

Alex Gorsky, Johnson & Johnson

Greg Hayes, United Technologies Corp.

Marillyn Hewson, Lockheed Martin Corp.

John Flannery, General Electric Co.

Jim Kamsickas, Dana Inc.

Rich Kyle, Timken Co.

Thea Lee, AFL-CIO

Denise Morrison, Campbell Soup

Dennis Muilenburg, Boeing Co.

Doug Oberhelman, Caterpillar Inc.

Scott Paul, Alliance for American Manufacturing

Michael Polk, Newell Brands

Mark Sutton, International Paper

Inge Thulin, 3M Co.

Richard Trumka, AFL-CIO

Wendell Weeks, Corning

Lockheed Martin CEO Marillyn Hewson, Corning CEO Wendell Weeks, and Harris Corp. CEO Bill Brown declined to comment. A representative for Scott Paul, president of the Alliance for American Manufacturing, said he was traveling and unavailable to comment.

Click to comment

More in BOOYAH



To Top