Connect with us


NEW TSA RULE: You Won’t Be Able To Board An Airplane With Driver’s Licenses From These 9 States

With 2017 just around the corner, it’s a good time for a reminder that starting in 2018, the Transportation Security Administration will no longer accept state ID cards or driver’s licenses from nine states as proof of identification.

According to the new rules set by the department, Flyers with driver’s licenses from Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington will need an alternative form of ID, like a passport or military ID.

The Transportation Security Administration will start posting signs at airports this week alerting travelers that beginning January 2018 it will start enforcing REAL ID requirements at airport security checkpoints. The change in TSA procedure that might disrupt more than a few travel plans, according to the announcement.

Photo via Imgur

Photo via Imgur

DHS explained that the change is an outcome of the REAL ID law passed by Congress in 2005. It created minimum criteria for state-issued licenses used as proof of ID.

So far, the nine states listed above have failed to achieve compliance with the REAL ID standards, according to DHS.

“States have made considerable progress in meeting this key recommendation of the 9/11 Commission and every state has a more secure driver’s license today than before the passage of the Act,” DHS writes on the website.

Don't miss the latest Political Digs. Sign up for our daily email:

Click to comment

More in BOOYAH